My Oatmeal Muse

No matter the season, a bowl of hot oatmeal makes me want to write. Usually, I’ll curl up with a journal (yes, I still keep a real one) or settle down for devotions, but this morning I decided to blog because I want to tell you about this oatmeal.

Oatmeal is a pretty healthy food, but- I’ll be honest – it is really quite boring and tasteless sometimes. Growing up, I had delicious oatmeal with butter, milk, and sugar… those were the days. This morning I went for a run (it started raining and I kept going- yay me) before breakfast, but had a glass of milk with some strawberry Gold Standard protein powder to keep me going. When I got back, damp, tired, and chilly, I was ready for a hot meal. The recipe below is just over 200 calories (full Nutrition Information courtesy of MyFitnessPal’s “Create a Recipe” tool) and quite delicious, despite the fact that it only has 4 grams of sugar (3 from the skim milk and 1 from the oats themselves). Ladies and gents, enjoy.

Vanilla Almond Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • Quaker Oats (Quick Oats) – 40 grams (1/2 cup)
  • Skim Milk – 60 ml (1/8 cup)
  • Cinnamon – 1 tsp
  • Vanilla Extract – 1/4 tsp
  • Water- just a touch, maybe 2 ounces, depending on how thick you want it*
  • Sliced Almonds – 1 tbsp (I add cinnamon to my bag of sliced almonds and shake it to add a little flavor, so technically these were cinnamon almonds)

*You could omit the water and add more milk, but that adds calories, or omit the milk (saves 21 calories, but also takes away 3 g sugar and 2 g protein)

Begin:Turtle In Peanut Butter Blog

  1. Add oats, milk, water, and cinnamon to a microwave safe bowl
  2. Microwave for 90 seconds
  3. Remove from microwave, stir (if oatmeal seems too thin, add more oats; thick, add water)
  4. Stir in sliced almonds and vanilla extract
  5. Voila!

Vanilla Almond Oatmeal- Turtle in Peanut Butter Blog

I would add a picture of the finished product, but it smelled so good I ate it all before I could snap one…

                Next time maybe….

P.s. This recipe is also 12% of your daily calcium, 15% of your needed iron, but only 1% of your vitamin C so eat an orange or something.

Leave a Reply

