When I Stopped Pretending to be a Morning Person

If you ask my friends, they’d tell you I am the morning person and my husband is the night owl. His most productive time is somewhere between 10 p.m. and 4 a.m.; while I am drowsy by 9 p.m. and chipper at 6:30 a.m. with my cup of tea. The truth is I fake it. I hate waking up in the morning. Don’t get me wrong, I love it once the sun is up and I am safely out of bed, but that alarm. No matter what I set the tone to- and believe you me I have tried everything- I absolutely loathe the moment when my precious sleep is interrupted by that noise, whatever that noise may be. I curl up as small as possible and try to block it out.

This week, I have gone to bed relatively early (before 10:30) and what a change it has made! I wake up with the alarm feeling- wait for it- excited for the day! The strangest part is, I also gave up coffee this week.

So, yes, more sleep = less dependency on coffee and it is easier to wake up in the morning, even if it is early.

These past two mornings I haven’t woken up feeling like I want to strangle whatever cursed being is disrupting my rest. Rather I feel refreshed and eager for what the day holds.

Now if I could only finagle time for an afternoon nap rather than a 3:00 cup of coffee, I’d be golden…

Leave a Reply

