Slower than a Turtle in Peanut Butter….

In one week I will be in the clear for regular workouts. The past three weeks have been abysmal on the fitness scale. I still have a cough, my husband now has mono and strep throat. Working out in these conditionals is not a good idea. For two weeks, I did nothing; no workouts whatsoever. My greatest exercise was walking to the mailbox. But now we are closer to the start line and I need to ease myself back into a routine. The first night (Saturday) I went for a 45 minute walk in my neighborhood. I wasn’t gasping for breath and the night air soothed my irritated throat. The next night (Sunday) I ventured onto the elliptical machine. I kept my heart rate moderately low, but I stayed on for 30 minutes. Monday I rested. Tonight is yoga (which I have missed the past three weeks), and I am terribly excited. I have a new 5mm (thicker than the normal 3mm) yoga mat that I’ve been eager to try.

Once again I find myself moving slower than a turtle in peanut butter, but if I’ve learned anything from the past year it is that I will improve- even if it is by teeny incriminates- as long as I keep moving, keep pushing myself, keep trying my best.

 

P.S. Snack I’m loving: low fat cottage cheese with 1 packet of Splenda, sprinkled with cinnamon. Delicious and about 12 grams of protein, plus calcium- win win!

Leave a Reply

