Growing Pains

Friday night I went 3 miles. I ran (ran not jogged) the first 1.5 miles or so, then speed-walked (at a steep incline) for awhile before finishing at a quick run. The 5K is six days away. I’m getting ready, but I hit a roadblock (am I just cursed not to run??)…. My shins hurt. And my calves. I must not have stretched properly, but they ache…even a day and a half later. I will try to run this evening, but I am worried I did some damage. I think I will spend some time on the foam roller this afternoon.

In other health news, Mardi Gras is coming and you know what that means: KING CAKE. Had a (small) slice with some coffee this morning. Delicious. King Cake is not my favorite food in the world, but- like turkey at Thanksgiving, candy canes at Christmas, and chocolate at Valentine’s Day- it is a traditional sweet that I can alllllmost justify.

Valentine’s Day is this week. We’ll see how that fits in with my diet plans. I want to lose ten pounds over the next few months. I haven’t been that thin since early high school so I don’t even know if it will look good. I started a cycling class on Wednesday nights and I have yoga on Tuesdays, now I just need a running buddy and I will be good-to-go.

BEAUTIFUL weather today- may run outside if my legs aren’t hurting too badly later.

One thought on “Growing Pains

Leave a Reply

