Daniel Fast UPDATE

It is DAY EIGHT of the Daniel Fast. Here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. Fresh strawberries in oatmeal is fabulous and satisfies my morning cravings for a hot cup (bowl) of something (I can’t have tea or coffee).
  2. TOFU! Tofu is great! Why haven’t I been eating it before this week??
  3. Sugar is a powerful thing. Also, it is in practically all packaged foods– including natural peanut butter and most dried fruits.
  4. If you sniff something really closely, it feel like you are eating it because your taste buds are aided by your sense of smell.

Seriously though, this venture has been harder than I imagined it would be. Everything I read said prepare, prepare, PREPARE, but I didn’t want to do too much preparing because I felt like if I ate better, more home-cooked meals than normal, how was it a fast? However, not preparing meals in advance has meant I spend a lot of time thinking about what I will be eating. I do believe a second go-round would be easier and less food-focused because I am now more familiar with what I can and cannot have. Also, having a husband in the house who is NOT on the fast has proven a challenge. Last night he had pizza and boy did I want some! But I sautéed pineapple and garlic and added it to a plain tomato sauce over whole grain pasta to give myself the flavor  of pineapple pizza. It actually curbed the craving (though I would have still loved a bite of the warm crust). To be honest, my bread and meat cravings are almost entirely gone. The hardest has been hot drinks and sugar. I didn’t think I was much of a sugar person because I don’t add sugar to really anything (maaaybe 1/2 a teaspoon to my coffee), but that has been my biggest struggle: not eating foods containing sugar or other sweeteners.

Wednesday is my last day. I think I may try this again for lent, but plan better– and keep my coffee (I can drink it black). I really think I could go vegan without much trouble. I don’t think I will though, not just yet.

Leave a Reply

