January 2nd– Net Positive

Should I be proud that I have worked out every day this week? Today I had a super-fruit breakfast: mangoes, pineapples, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and a slice of dark wheat toast…and a cup of loose leaf black tea. Do I need to tell you that it was delicious?
Had a minor fallback with Chinese leftovers for lunch, but made up for it with a Jillian Michaels kickboxing session. My snack later in the afternoon was sliced veggies and some pita chips.

Dinner: Tomato soup from scratch.

Early stages of the soup
Early stages of the soup
  • 3 large tomatoes
  • 3/4 a sliced white onion
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrots
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  1. Put all ingredients in a large pan
  2. Add enough water to cover the vegetables
  3. Boil until tomatoes are soft
  4. Drain most of the water
  5. Put in the blender and blend until smooth
  6. Return to pot and heat, stirring occasionally
  7. TASTE IT–> then add more seasoning as you prefer

Here’s my cheat: I added 1/4 cup of MUIR GLEN Organic pasta sauce (Italian Herb flavor) just for a little Oomph. Also, I am guessing on the measurement because, well, I didn’t measure anything. Regardless, the finished product was delicious. I made a side of fish sticks (UNHEALTHY- I know, but my sexy husband eats unfair amounts of processed foods while still saying slim, so this is how I bribe him to eat my soup) for dipping.

Overall, this day was probably a health positive. Planning on a run tonight- at least two miles. It isn’t fun, but it’s the only way I’ll be able to run a 5k.

 

Leave a Reply

