Vision, Goals, Resolutions. Happy New Year

What is it about New Years that inspires millions to write or speak resolutions for the upcoming 365 days? More importantly, what is it that makes millions forget their goals, abandon their vision, and prove themselves un-resolute after only a few weeks? One word: VISION. Mankind envisions a better future; a thinner body, a freer soul, a sweeter spirit, healed relationships- improvement. This is their vision. Resolutions; these are their goals. A smart man once told me that goals are steps to achieving your vision. For the millions composing New Year’s resolutions this week, the vision is for a better life- one way or another (although, since this is a fitness blog, it seems only appropriate to focus on health and wellness resolutions). New Years represents a new beginning, a chance to start over– an excuse to continue bad behavior for a few precious days “until New Years” when we will supposedly instate new rules to meet our goals. The trouble is rules & goals are hard. No one likes hard. I hate hard; I like the cozy corners of my comfort zone. Jillian Michaels says change only happens when we step out of our comfort zone. I made an off-handed comment about “when I get abs–” to my husband the other day. He turned and said, “You’ve been saying that for two years; either learn to be comfortable with your body or work to change it.” After over 150 days of owning a good pair of shoes, I should be a great runner, now able to run a 10k. I went for a run yesterday: 1 mile. Why? Because I was bored after one mile and I made excuses. I have a vision- what I need is goals and the stubbornness to stick to them. Cue public sphered blog. Hello, internet. Welcome to your new job as my parole officer. This blog will be my accountability partner.

Today is Day 164 of my fitness journey. Tomorrow is New Years Eve. My resolutions, also known as goals:

  • NO chocolate except dark and that even must be sparingly
  • WATCH carbs; acceptable carbohydrates are those that are also good sources of fiber
  • NO fast-food. Period.
  • NO soda
  • DRINK MORE WATER: goal is 60 ounces per day. This is the equivalent of five 12oz– almost 1/2 a gallon
  • RUN every day— even if it is only a mile (though it shouldn’t be less than two). Running will not count as a workout unless I run a 5k
  • Workout everyday: Jillian Michaels DVD or a class at the gym (today is cycling)
  • DO NOT eat when you are bored
  • DO measure your food (at least until I have a better understanding of portion sizes)
  • Measure YOURSELF every Saturday. Record weight, waist circumference, arm circumference, and thigh circumference
  • Keep a food diary. Record how I’m feelings, who I’m with, the food measurements, and the setting of each meal/snack I eat

That is all for now, but this list may be amended. Also, a year is a long time; let’s try 10 weeks. Why 10? Because in ten weeks is Spring Break (also it seems like a good number).

I don’t often have faith in myself. I don’t trust my own willpower. It is laziness, I’m sure, but I always seem to negotiate with myself- make excuses.

  • NO EXCUSES

Stepping up to do the hard things– stepping out of my comfort zone– is the only way I will see change.
I have two and a half months to see results. My goal weight is 125lbs, with a toned tummy and the ability to easily run a 5k in good time. To achieve this, I need cardio to burn fat (daily running), and strength/core workouts (like Jillian Michaels DVDs) to tone and shape (and, bonus: running daily will train me for a 5k).

2 Timothy 1:7 (ESV) “for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”

Day 164 : cycling class at 11:00 (I’m scared. I’ve never taken a cycling class and this may be hard.) and two mile run this evening.

Leave a Reply

